Evolutionary Psychology

Last night I had the pleasure of being invited back for episode two of Tom Williamson’s ‘Skeptic Canary Show’. Once again I was sat alongside fellow guest David James (whose blog http://www.skeptical.gb.net/ is more than worth the entrance fee!) ; and special guest Ed Clint, to talk about Evolutionary Psychology.

Ed is a graduate student of UCLA and an EvoPsy Researcher; and you can find out much more about the work  he does and Evolutionary Psychology in general at his network page http://www.skepticink.com .

I won’t go into too much detail here – Suffice it to say that you can learn an awful lot by listening to the show at http://www.blogtalkradio.com/skepticcanary/2013/04/10/ep02–evolutionary-psychology-with-ed-clint !

I will just say, though,  that I found the experience extremely entertaining and enlightening. The subject matter was one I had touched on regrettably  briefly as an undergraduate; and was very grateful to have the opportunity to listen to someone who could fill in a lot of the gaps for me.

My lay-understanding before the show was that Evolutionary Psychology was a cross-field attempt to explain behavioural development by evolutionary means. One of the papers I remember reading during my undergraduate days was ‘The Evolution of Happiness’ (2000); and having re-read it in preparation for the show, I still feel that it gives a good insight into the discipline for the lay-audience. A copy of the paper can be found at http://homepage.psy.utexas.edu/homepage/group/busslab/pdffiles/Evolution_Of_Happiness_2000.pdf

So, what are your views on Evolutionary Psychology? Where do you stand on the various perceived criticisms and shortcomings of the topic? Well, whatever views you have formed; I am confident that you will have finished listening to the show and know a significant amount more than when you started.

About theoreticalnovelty

Masters Psychology Graduate who researched the short- and long-term memories of my fellow chess players. Interested in reading about philosophy, physics, psychology, religion and alternative medicine. Am a keen and highly enthusiastic member of The Skeptic and Humanist Communities and have been the guest speaker for five 'Skeptics in the Pub' branches and The Humanist Society of West Yorkshire. I am aiming to become much more seriously involved in both the Skeptic and Humanist communities. I am also available to talk to schools, businesses and other organisations on matters relating to psychology, evolution vs. creationism/intelligent design and the role that chess can play in education. If anyone wishes to contact me, they can reach me at paul.hopwood@gmail.com, on facebook at www.facebook.com/paulmarkhopwood and on Twitter under the handle Hoppers163 - I very much look forward to hearing from you!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

